Home Page.About us etc.A to E items.F to K items.L to P items.Q to Z items.Useful info.Link Sites.Forum Log In.
Home Page
Site Map.
site map
Krabi Province Page 3, Origin of the name Krabi, How to get to Krabi
Krabi Province Page 1,Krabi Province, The Geography and the History

Some archaeologists claim that Krabi City is one of the older settlements in the country as there is archaeological evidence showing that this area had been home to homo sapiens during the prehistoric times or between 25,000 - 35,000 B. C. The assumption has been strongly supported by the discovery of stone tools, ancient coloured pictures, beads, pottery and skeletal remains in the provinces cliffs and caves.In 1200 A.D., the area was known as Ban Thai Samo, one of 12 royal cities that had a monkey as the town symbol. During this period of time, Krabi was under the rule of the Kingdom of Ligor, a city better known today as Nakhon Si Thammarat.

During the reign of King Rama V (1868-1910), the community was known as Pakasai Sub-county and remained under the direct jurisdiction of Nakhon Si Thammarat province. Around 1872, King Rama V elevated Pakasai Sub-county to Krabi Province with the provincial administration office situated at Krabi-yai Sub-county ( currently, the office is located near the estuary at Pak Nam Sub-district ) and in 1875, ordered the separation of Krabi Province from Nakhon Si Thammarat Province.

During the present reign, the corps of civil servants, merchants, and the people of Krabi and nearby provinces have collectively organized the construction of a royal residence at Laem Hang Nak Cape which is 30 kilometres west of Krabi Town on the Andaman coast to be presented to His Majesty the King.

Districts of Krabi:

Krabi is subdivided into eight districts (Amphoe), which are further divided into 53 communes (Tambon) and 374 villages (Muban).

  1. Mueang Krabi    2. Khao Phanom    3. Koh Lanta    4. Khlong Thom

  5. Ao Luek    6. Plai Phraya    7. Lam Thap    8. Nuea Khlong


The provinces jurisdiction covers not only in-land districts and sub-districts, but also extends to more than 130 large and small islands including the world famous Phi Phi Islands.


Krabi, History Continued and the Districts of the Province