Home Page.About us etc.A to E items.F to K items.L to P items.Q to Z items.Useful info.Link Sites.Forum Log In.
Home Page
Site Map.
site map

Neighbouring provinces are (from north clockwise) Chumphon, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Krabi, Phang Nga and Ranong.

Geographically the centre of the province is the coastal plain of the Tapi river, mostly  grassland interchanged with rubber tree and coconut plantings. In the west are limestone mountains of the Phuket range mostly covered with forests. The Khao Sok National Park is located in these mountains. To the east the hills of the Nakhon Si Thammarat (or Bantat) mountain range start to rise, protected in the Tai Rom Yen National Park. Many islands in the Gulf of Thailand belong to the district, including the tourist islands Koh Samui, Koh Pha-ngan and Koh Tao, as well as the Koh Ang Thong marine national park. The main rivers of the Surat Thani province are Tapi River and Phum Duang River, which join at the town Tha Kham shortly before they drain into the Bandon Bay. The delta of these rivers, locally known as Nai Bang is located directly north of the city Surat Thani. It consists of several channels with small islands mostly covered by mangrove or orchards. Further protected areas in the province are the Khlong Phanom and Kaeng Krung national park, Than Sadet-Koh Pha-Ngan marine national park, the non-hunting areas Khao Tha Phet and Nong Thung Thong and the wildlife sanctuaries Khlong Phraya, Khlong Saeng and Khlong Yan. The Hat Khanom - Mu Koh Thale Tai, which contains a few small island south of Koh Samui, is in process of creation.

National parks

   * Koh Ang Thong marine national park

   * Khao Sok national park

   * Khlong Phanom national park

   * Kaeng Krung national park

   * Than Sadet-Koh Pha-Ngan marine national park

   * Tai Rom Yen National Park


Rail links  The province is crossed by the southern railway, with the main railway station located at Phunphin about 15 km from downtown. A branch line to the west ends in Kirirat Nikhom, originally planned to run till the coast next to the island Phuket, but construction ended in 1956. In total it has 32 railway stations in Surat Thani province.

Road links  Parallel to the railway in north-south direction runs the Asian Highway 2 (Thailand Route 41). The major road in east-west direction is Route 401 connecting Takua Pa with Nakhon Si Thammarat, and Route 44 in southwestern direction from Kanchanadit to Krabi. Route 44 was built as part of the land bridge project connecting the Gulf of Thailand with the Andaman Sea. Unlike other highways there are no crossing intersections, the wide space between the two lanes is reserved for pipeline and railway.

Air  links  Two regional airports are located in the province - Surat Thani International Airport in Phunphin and Samui Airport on Koh Samui. The Surat Thani International Airport is served by three airlines: Thai Airways International Thai Air Asia One-Two-Go Airlines from Don Mueang International Airport The Samui Airport is served by Bangkok Airways and Thai Airways International from Suvarnabhumi Airport, Hong Kong, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Phuket, Chiang Mai and Penang

Surat Thani Province, National Parks, and Islands

Surat Thani province Page 1, History and the Districts of the Province
Surat Thani Province Page 3, Festivals held here