Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com


Visa Exemption

With effect from 06 December 2008 any person eligible to enter Thailand under the “Visa Exemption Rule” will be granted a stay of maximum 30 days but only if entering the Kingdom via an international airport. Persons entering Thailand through a land border checkpoint from a neighboring country will be granted a maximum stay of just 15 days.

Passport holders of the 48 countries listed below are entitled to enter Thailand under the “Visa Exemption Rule” provided they meet all of the following criteria:-

a) Purpose of visit is strictly tourism.

     b) Must be in possession of a confirmed flight ticket (e-ticket acceptable) to show they will be flying out of

   Thailand within 30 days or 15 days of entry, as appropriate. Open tickets do not qualify.

   Travelling overland out of Thailand by train, bus, etc to Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia (including en route

   to Singapore), Myanmar

    (Burma), etc is not accepted as proof of exiting Thailand.

          You may be asked to show your flight ticket on entering Thailand. If you do not possess a flight ticket to

          show you will be exiting Thailand within 30 or 15 days of entry you are likely to be refused entry and  

         may not even be allowed to check in for your flight to Thailand.

     c) Having access to living expenses of 20,000 baht (approx £400) per person or 40,000 baht (approx £800)  

          per family.  It may be necessary to be able to prove this on entry.

List of countries which have special agreements with Thailand entitling their nationals to enter under the “Visa Exemption Rule” for a single stay of up to 30 or 15 days  (as appropriate)  provided they can satisfy the conditions above:-

      1.  Argentina   2.  Australia    3.  Austria    4.  Bahrain   5.  Belgium  6.  Brazil   7.  Brunei   8.  Canada   9.  Chile

      10. Denmark 11. Finland  12. France  13. Germany  14.Greece  15. Hong Kong  16. Iceland  17. Indonesia   

      18. Ireland  19. Israel  20. Italy 21. Japan   22. Korea (ROK)  23. Kuwait  24. Laos   25. Luxembourg   26. Macau  

      27. Malaysia  28. Monaco  29. Mongolia  30. Netherlands  31. New Zealand 32. Norway  33 Oman  34. Peru   

      35. Philippines  36. Portugal   37. Qatar  38. Russia  39. Singapore  40. South Africa  41. Spain   42. Sweden  

      43. Switzerland  44. Turkey   45. United Arab Emirates  46. United Kingdom 47. United States  48. Vietnam

Visa Rules ( General ) Page 2 Visa for Thai National Page 1