Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Chiang Rai Page 1, the northernmost Province of Thailand

Chumphon is one of the southern provinces ( changwat ) of Thailand, at the shore of the Gulf of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are ( from north clockwise ) Prachuap Khiri Khan, Surat Thani and Ranong. To the west it also borders Myanmar.

Chumphon is located on the Isthmus of Kra, the narrow land bridge connecting the Malay Peninsula with the mainland of Thailand. To the west are the hills of the Phuket mountain range and its northern continuation, the Tenasserim chain, while the east is  flatter land at the coat to the Gulf of Thailand. The main river is the Lang Suan, which originates in Phato district.

The southern part of the province was originally a separate province named Lang Suan. It was incorporated into Chumphon in 1932. In November 1989 the typhoon Gay hit the province hard - 529 people were killed, 160,000 became homeless, 7,130 km 2 (2,753 sq mi) of farm land was destroyed. Gay is the only tropical storm on record which reached Thailand with typhoon wind strength.

There are two different theories on the origin of the name Chumphon. According to one, it originates from Chumnumporn ( accumulation of forces ) which derives from the fact that Chumphon was a frontier city to the Burmese. Another theory claims the name derives from a local tree named Maduea Chumphon  Ficus glomerata), found abundant in the province. This tree is therefore also depicted in the seal of the province.

The provincial seal shows an angel, which gives blessing to the people. It is placed between two Cluster Fig trees ( Ficus glomerata ), which is also the provincial tree. The provincial flower is the Indian shot ( Canna indica ), and the finger banana is another provincial symbol.

Administrative districts

Chumphon is subdivided into eight districts (Amphoe).

These are further subdivided into 70 sub districts (Tambon)

and 674 villages ( Muban ). Chumphon and Lang Suan

are the two towns ( thesaban mueang ), there are further

12 sub district municipalities ( thesaban Tambon ).

1. Mueang Chumphon   2. Tha Sae   3. Pathio   4. Lang Suan   5. Lamae 6. Phato 7. Sawi 8. Thung Tako

Chumphon Province Page 1, Chumphon province, Southern Thailand, the geography
Chumphon Province Page 1, Chumphon province, Southern Thailand, the geography
Chumphon Province Page 2, How to get there