Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Khon Kaen Province Page 1, The Geography and History of the Province

In 1783 Rajakruluang brought 330 people to settle at Ban Bung Born near Amphur Ban Phai now in Khon Kaen province. King Rama I, working to strengthen the tenuous relationship between Issan and Bangkok bestowed the title of Nuang Kham Kaenon the town and Rajkruluang became the first governor. Between 1797 and 1879 the city moved six times before settling at Nuang Kaw on the west side of Bung Kaen Nakhon.

Marshal Sarit Thanarat is honoured for his work in establishing Khon Kaen as the administrative centre of the Northeast in the early part of this century. Most significantly he recommended the establishment of a university for the Northeast based in Khon Kaen, which has given great impetus to the education and development of this thriving commercial centre, the capital of a large and quite arid province rich in cultural heritage.

Most of the population of Khon Kaen Province belong to the Phaw Thai ( Issan Thai ) ethnic group ( subgroup Laos-Wieng) who migrated from Laos. Farming is their major occupation. The provincial population was 1,756,719 in 2009, most of whom live in one of the 1,732 villages. There are 12 rural centres and 8 reasonably large urban locations.

In the city ( population estimated at 147,579 ) people of Chinese-Thai origin dominate commerce and industry, with many people from other provinces attracted to work in the Public Service sector or at Khon Kaen University. Khon Kaen has the highest population growth of the North eastern region.

The high level of literacy in the province ( some 87% had completed compulsory primary education in 1980 ) can be attributed to a well-developed network of educational institutions, with many institutes of higher education available.

The seal of the province shows the Stupa ( tower ) of Phra That Kham Kaen, which is believed to

contain relics of Buddha. Two trees are depicted on both sides, one is a banyan tree ( Ficus

benghalensis ), the other a Golden Shower Tree ( Cassia fistula ). The Thai name of the golden

shower means providing support and preventing a decline, and it is also the provincial flower. The

provincial tree is the pinkshower tree ( Cassia bakeriana ), the Thai name of which translates as

wishing tree.

Administrative districts:- See map on page one

The province is sub divided into 26 districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further subdivided into 198

sub districts ( Tambon ) and 2139 villages ( Muban ).

1. Mueang Khon Kaen    2. Ban Fang   3. Phra Yuen   4. Nong Ruea   5. Chum Phae   6. Si Chomphu   7. Nam Phong

8. Ubolratana   9. Kranuan  10. Ban Phai  11. Pueai Noi  12. Phon  13. Waeng Yai  14. Waeng Noi  15. Nong Song Hong

16. Phu Wiang  17. Mancha Khiri  18. Chonnabot  19. Khao Suan Kwang  20. Phu Pha Man  21. Sam Sung  22. Khok Pho Chai  23. Nong Na Kham  24. Ban Haet  25. Non Sila  29. Wiang Kao - numbers 26 to 28 are reserved for three other planned ( minor ) districts - Phu Kham Noi,  Nong Kae , and Non Hin.

There are plans to split off the northwestern part to form a new province centred at Phu Wiang. The other districts which will belong to this new province are Nong Ruea, Chum Phae, Si Chomphu, Phu Pha Man, Nong Na Kham and Wiang Kao.

Khon Kaen Province, History and Administrative Districts

Khon Kaen Province Page 3, History and facts on the Province