Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Samut Prakan page 1c, Hospitals & Clinics

Samut Sakhon was formerly called Tha Chin probably because, in the old days, it had been a trading port dealing with a vast number of Chinese junks. In 1548, a town named Sakhon Buri was established at the mouth of the Tha Chin River. It was a centre for recruiting troops from various seaside towns. The name of the town was changed into Mahachai when Khlong ( canal )  Mahachai was dug in 1704 to join the Tha Chin River at the town. Later, the town was renamed Samut Sakhon by King Rama IV but it is still popularly called Mahachai by the villagers.

Samut Sakhon is located 30 km's. from Bangkok. The province occupies a total area of 872 square kilometres and is administratively divided into three districts: Muang Samut Sakhon, Krathum Baen, and Ban Phaeo. It is a major fishing port and also the biggest producer of brine salt.

The word Samut originates from the Sanskrit  word Samudra meaning ocean, and the word Sakhon from Sanskrit sagara meaning lake.

The Provincial seal shows a Chinese junk in front of the coast, with a smoking chimney. Both refer to the old trading tradition as well as the local industries. Provincial tree is the Devil Tree  ( Alstonia scholaris ). The provincial slogan is Fishing City, Factory Town, Agricultural Ground, Historic Site.

The province is sub divided into three districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further sub divided into 40 communes ( Tambon )and 288 villages ( Muban ).

  1. Mueang Samut Sakhon

  2. Krathum Baen ( see separate article on Krathum Baen under F to K Items)  

  3. Ban Phaeo

Altogether there are seven municipal ( thesaban ) areas within the province - Samut Sakhon is the only city ( thesaban nakhon ), Krathum Baen and Om Noi are the two towns

( thesaban mueang ), and there are further four townships ( thesaban tambon ). The non-municipal areas are administrated by 30 Tambon administrative organizations ( TAO ).

Samut Sakhon Province Page 1, Geography, Provincial seal, Map
Samut Sakhon Province Page 2, Places to see around the Province Krathum Baen Page 1, Samut sakhon Province