Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com

Ratchaburi often shortened Rat'buri,  is one of the central provinces (changwat) of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are Kanchanaburi, Nakhon Pathom, Samut Sakhon, Samut Songkhram  and Phetchaburi. In the west it borders Tanintharyi Division of Myanmar.

Ratchaburi means, The land of the king.The province is full of cultural heritage, beautiful places, and historical sites. Ratchaburi covers 5200 square kilometres. It is located 80 kilometres west of Bangkok and borders Burma to the west with the Tanaosi range as a borderline. It has Mea Klong River through the centre of town. Ratchaburi, a glorious town during the Dvaravati period, is located on the bank of the Mae Klong River. The provincial area abounds in natural attractions and historical sites. It is located 80 kilometres west of Bangkok and borders on Myanmar to the west having the Tanaosi Range as a borderline.

Ratchaburi occupies an area of 5,196 square kilometres and is administratively divided into nine districts: Muang Ratchaburi, Photharam, Damnoen Saduak, Pak Tho, Chom Bueng, Bang Phae, Wat Phleng , Suan Phueng, and Ban Pong, and one sub-district: King Amphoe Ban Kha.

The east part of the province contains the flat river plains of the Mae Klong river, crisscrossed by many Khlongs. The most famous tourist spot in this area is the floating market of Damnoen Saduak. The west of the province is more mountainous, and includes the Tanawsri mountain range. As the mountains are made mostly of limestone, there are several caves containing stalactites. Some caves are inhabited by large colonies of bats, and it is an impressive sight when they swarm out in the evening to feed. Other caves like the Khao Bin are accessible for visitors. The main river of the west part is the Phachi River.

At the left bank of the Phachi river the Chaloem Phra Kiat Thai Prachan National Park is in process of being established since 2003: It is scheduled to protect 384.39 km² of forests which had been battle ground with the Communist party of Thailand in the past.

The province is subdivided into ten districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further subdivided into 104 sub districts (  Tambon ) and 935 villages ( Muban ).

1. Mueang Ratchaburi   2. Chom Bueng   3. Suan Phueng   4. Damnoen Saduak   5. Ban Pong

6. Bang Phae   7. Photharam   8. Pak Tho   9. Wat Phleng  10. Ban Kha

There are three towns ( Thesaban Mueang ) - Ratchaburi, Ban Pong and Photharam - and 11 township ( Thesaban Tambon ).

Ratchaburi Province Page 1, The Geography, Map, and Districts
Ranong Province, Page 1,  Map of Ranong, Provincial Seal, Districts. Ratchaburi Province Page 2, History and the Seal of the Province and two video's