Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Issan Territory Page 1, The Northeast region of Thailand Kalasin Province, Page 2, Places to visit, Kalsin Museum, Wat Klang, ,Phraya Chaisunthon Monument ( Chao Somphamit )

Kalasin  is one of the provinces ( changwat ) of Thailand, located in the North-East of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are ( from north clockwise ) Sakon Nakhon, Mukdahan, Roi Et, Maha Sarakham, Khon Kaen and Udon Thani. Geography Most of the province is covered by hilly landscape. In the north is the Lam Pao dam built 1963-68, storing 1,430 million m³ of water for flood prevention and agriculture. The Lam Pao reservoir effectively cuts the northern part of the province in half but there are car ferries connecting the district of  Sahatsakhan in the east with the district Nong Kung Si in the west, saving up to one hour off the journey by road. On the northwestern creek of the reservoir a road bridge now connects the village of Ban Dong Bang in the west with the district town of Wang Sam Mo in the east. Although the bridge was constructed several years ago (pre 2000 ) it is not featured ( 2006 ) on any commercially available road maps.

Making the border with Sakhon Nakhon Province is the Phu Phan mountain range, which is preserved as a national park. Kalasin is famous for the dinosaur fossils found at Phu Kum Khao (Sahatsakhan district ), the largest dinosaur site of Thailand. Kalasin is an agricultural province producing sticky rice and other cash crops such as manioc ( Cassava ) and sugar cane. The families are generally poor in this  rural area and make ends meet by producing the silk for which the region is also renowned and basketry. Archeological excavations showed that the Lawa tribe already lived in the area in prehistoric times 1600 years ago. However, the first town was founded in 1793.During the thesaphiban reforms at the beginning of the 20th century the town ( Mueang ) was converted into a province. In 1932 the province was abolished and included into Maha Sarakham, and was recreated in 1947. The seal of the province shows a pond in front of the mountains which form the boundary of the province.The water in the pond is black, as the name Kalasin means black water. The big clouds as well

as the water symbolizes the fertility of the province.

The provincial flower is Payorm or Sweet shorea ( Shorea roxburghii ), and the provincial tree is Sa-mae-san ( Cassia garrettiana ).

The provincial slogan is Fa Daet Song Yang Ancient City, Pong Lang Folk Music, Phu Thai Culture, Phrae Wa Silk, Pha Saweoi Phu Phan, Lam Pao River, and Million-year Dinosaurs.

The province is subdivided into 18 districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further subdivided into 134 sub districts ( Tambon ) and 1509 villages ( Muban ).

1. Mueang Kalasin   2. Na Mon   3. Kamalasai   4. Rong Kham   5. Kuchinarai   6. Khao Wong 7. Yang Talat  8. Huai Mek 9. Sahatsakhan  10. Kham Muang  11. Tha Khantho  12. Nong Kung Si 13. Somdet  14. Huai Phueng  15. Sam Chai  16. Na Khu  17. Don Chan  18. Khong Chai.

Kalasin Province, Page 1, Situation of the Province, Provincial Seal, Map of Kalasin, Districts.
Kalasin Province, Page 1, Situation of the Province, Provincial Seal, Map of Kalasin, Districts.
Kalasin Province, Page 1, Situation of the Province, Provincial Seal, Map of Kalasin, Districts.