Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Lamphun Province, Page 1, Lamphun is one of the northern provinces ( Changwat ) of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are ( from north clockwise ) Chiang Mai, Lampang and Tak, History of Lamphun. Loei Province, Page 2,  Getting to Loei, by Car, Plane or Bus.

Loei Province, Geography, and the districts of the Province. Seal of Loei.

Loei is one of the most sparsely populated provinces ( Changwat ) of Thailand, located in the North-East of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are ( from east clockwise ) Nong Khai, Udon Thani, Nongbua Lamphu, Khon Kaen, Phetchabun, Phitsanulok. In the north it borders Xaignabouli and Vientiane Province of Laos. Loei is a city surrounded by undulating mountain ranges whose summits are covered by foggy lines, abundant with various kinds of flora. The well-known ones are Phu Kradueng, Phu Luang and Phu Ruea.

The province is covered with low mountains, and the capital Loei is located in a fertile basin. The river Loei which flows through the province is a tributary of the Mekong river. This river forms the northern boundary of the province with neighbouring Laos.

While temperatures in the hot season around April can be more than 40 degrees Celsius, the province is the only place in Thailand which regularly goes below zero degrees in the nights during the cold season around December.

The province has several mountains including Phu Kradueng, which is part of the Phu Kradueng National Park. Further national parks are Phu Hin Rong Kla, Phu Rua, Phu Pha Man and Phu Suan Sai ( also known as Na Haeo ).

In 1853 king Mongkut ( Rama IV ) founded the city of Loei to better administer the increased population in the area. In 1907 the province was created.

The seal of the province shows the stupa at Phra That Si Song Rak built in 1560. It was built by King Maha Chakrapat of the Ayutthaya kingdom, and King Chai Chetha of Lan Xang, and marked the friendship between the two kingdoms. The provincial tree is the Khasi Pine ( Pinus kesiya ).

The provincial slogan is City of the Sea of Mountains, Coldest Place in Siam, and Beautiful Flowers of Three Seasons.

The province is sub divided into 14 districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further subdivided into 89 sub districts ( Tambon ) and 839 villages ( Muban ).

1. Mueang Loei   2. Na Duang   3. Chiang Khan   4. Pak Chom   5. Dan Sai   6. Na Haeo   7. Phu Ruea 8. Tha Li   9. Wang Saphung  10. Phu Kradueng  11. Phu Luang  12. Pha Khao  13. Erawan  14. Nong Hin

Loei Province, Page 1, Geography, and the districts of the Province. Seal of Loei.
Loei Province, Page 1, Geography, and the districts of the Province. Seal of Loei.