Chiang Mai has over 300 Buddhist temples (called Wat - in Thai). These include:
Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep:See article within this section
Wat Chiang Man: the oldest temple in Chiang Mai dating from the 13th century. King
Mengrai lived here while overseeing the construction of the city. This temple houses
two very important and venerated Buddha figures – Phra Sila (a marble Buddha) and
Phra Satang Man (a Crystal Buddha).
Wat Phra Singh: located within the city walls, dates from 1345 and offers an example
of classic northern Thai style architecture. It houses the Phra Singh Buddha, a highly
venerated figure, transferred here many years ago from Chiang Rai. This temple is
one of the most important temples in the city. Visitors can also take part in meditation
classes here at set times.
Wat Chedi Luang:founded in 1401 and dominated by the large Lanna style chedi which
dates from the same time, but took many years to finish. An earthquake damaged the
chedi in the 16th century and now only two-thirds of it remains.
Wat Ched Yot: located on the outskirts of the city, this temple, built in 1455, hosted
the Eighth World Buddhist Council in 1977.
Wiang Kum Kam: the site of an old city situated on the southern outskirts of Chiang
Mai. King Mengrai used this for ten years before the founding of Chiang Mai. The
site has many ruined temples.
Wat Umong:a forest and cave wat in the foothills in the west of the city, near Chiang
Mai University. Wat U-Mong is known for its grotesque concrete fasting Buddha and
hundreds of pithy Buddhist proverbs in English and Thai posted on trees throughout
Wat RamPoeng (Tapotaram):near Wat U-Mong, known for its meditation centre (Northern
Insight Meditation Centre) with over 100 Thai and foreigner meditation students and
monks attending at any time. The temple teaches the traditional vipassana technique
where students stay from ten days to over a month when they try to meditate at least
ten hours a day.
Wat Suan Dok: a 14th century temple located just west of the old city-wall. The temple
was built by the King of Lanna for a revered monk visiting from Sukhothai to spend
the rains retreat. The name translates as "the field of flowers temple. There are
several unique aspects to this temple. One is the temple's large ubosot (ordination
hall). This is unusual not only for its size, but also that it is open on the sides
instead of enclosed. Secondly, there are many chedis housing the ashes of the rulers
of Chiang Mai. The temple is also the site of Mahachulalongkorn Rajavidyalaya Buddhist