Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Narathiwat Province, Page 1, Geography, Provincial Seal Nong Bua Lamphu Province, Page 2, How to get to Nong Bua Lamphu Province, Places to see when there.

Nong Bua Lamphu  is one of the north-eastern provinces (Changwat) of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are  Udon Thani, Khon Kaen and Loei. Nong Bua Lamphu is located in the heart of the Khorat Plateau. Nong Bua Lamphu is the country's latest province. Established on December 1, 1993, it is the 76th province of Thailand. Before separation, Nongbua Lamphu once was part of Udon Thani. Although the province was just established recently, it has a long history. Archeological artefacts found in this area show that there were human settlements in Nong Bua Lamphu since in the pre-historical era. About 200 years ago, a town was established by Lao people from the left side of Mekong River. The name Nong Bua Lamphu appears in historical records as a rest venue for the Siamese Army during their march to fight against Vientiane in both the Ayutthaya and the Rattanakosin era. Besides picturesque nature, namely the Phu Phan Range, and a beautiful lake, Nong Bua Lamphu is rich of cultural attractions, such as archeological sites and interesting local handicrafts.

During the existence of the Laotian kingdom of Lan Xang, Nong Bua Lamphu was traditionally given to rule to the crown prince. In 1827 Chao Anou of Vientiane designated Phagna Narin to be the governor of this place, which is famous as the spot where the Naresuan, the King-Liberator of Siam, came in the sixteenth century to learn the outcome of a war between the Lao and Burmese in the Vientiane area. Nong Bua Lamphu was long a Lao stronghold, and was the birthplace of the principal wife of Chao Siribunyasan, the last independent king of Vientiane. Under Thai rule, the province originally consisted of five Amphoe (districts) in the province Udon Thani. In 1993 Udon province was decentralized and a separate province of Nong Bua Lamphu was created. It is one of the three youngest provinces of Thailand, together with Amnat Charoen and Sa Kaeo.

Symbols - The seal of the province shows King Naresuan in a shrine. This shrine was built to commemorate the visit of King Naresuan to the city of Nong Bua Lamphu in 1574 when he was gathering troops to fight the Burmese kingdom of Taungoo. Behind the shrine is a pond with lotus flowers ( Nymphaea lotus ), which is the provincial flower. The provincial tree is the Siamese Rosewood ( Dalbergia cochinchinensis ),

Administrative divisions

The province is subdivided into six districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further sub divided into 59 sub-districts ( Tambon ) and 636 villages ( Muban ).

1)   Mueang Nongbua Lamphu   2)   Na Klang   3)   Non Sang   4)   Si Bun Rueang   5) Suwannakhuha   6)   Na Wang

Nong Bua Lamphu Province, Page 1, Geography, History, Map of Nong Bua Lamphu, Districts & Seal.
Nong Bua Lamphu Province, Page 1, Geography, History, Map of Nong Bua Lamphu, Districts & Seal.