Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Trat Province Page 1, Districts and Festivals

Ubon Ratchathani Province.

Ubon Ratchathani Province, Page 1, Provincial Seal, Geography of the area, map of  Ubon Ratchathani
Ubon Ratchathani Province, Page 2, Districts. And how to get to Ubon Ratchathani Province.

Ubon Ratchathani  is one of the north - eastern provinces ( Changwat ) of Thailand, and the country's easternmost. Ubon is about 600 km away from Bangkok. Neighbouring Provinces are Sisaket, Yasothon and Amnat Charoen. To the north and east it borders Salavan and Champasak of Laos, to the south Preah Vihear of Cambodia. At Khong Chiam the Mun river, the biggest river of the Khorat Plateau, joins the Mekong, which forms the north-eastern boundary of Thailand with Laos. It is called Maenam Song Si or the Mun River alluvium because the brown water from Mekong River is mixed with blue water from Mun River. It is located about 84 km. from Ubon Ratchathani City centre. The area where the borders of the three countries Thailand, Laos and Cambodia meet is promoted as the Emerald Triangle, in contrast to the Golden Triangle in the north of Thailand. The Emerald refers to the large intact monsoon forests there.Another natural place is namtok Saeng Chan. This waterfall is one km. from Thung Na Muang Waterfall.

The area was part of the Khmer Empire. Before the late eighteenth century, this area evidently was outside Siamese or Thai Ayutthaya Kingdom. After the fall of Ayutthaya in 1767 several new tribes settled there, including the Kha and Suai. Siamese/ Thai began to expand its influence over the area since the rise of Thonburi and Bangkok Kingdoms.

Twenty years later King Rama I offered a noble title to the local leader who could unite the many small settlements into one town. This was accomplished in 1786 with the founding of Ubon Ratchathani by Thao Khamphong, the Laotian prince who fled from Vientiane. Ubon Ratchathani was then named as Bangkok's tributary subject. Before it became a province. Ubon Ratchathani was the administrative centre of the monthon Isan, of which monthon Ubon was split off. In 1925 it became part of monthon Nakhon Ratchasima, with the abolishment of the monthon in 1933 the province became a first level subdivision of the country. Until 1972 the Ubon Ratchathani province was the largest province of Thailand area wise. In 1972 Yasothon was split off, in 1993 Amnat Charoen, after which it now holds the 5th rank.

The provincial seal shows a Lotus flower in a pond. This refers to the meaning of the name of the province, which translates to Royal city of the lotus flower. Therefore the provincial flower also is the Lotus ( Nymphaea lotus ). The provincial tree is the Yang-khao ( Dipterocarpus alatus ).