Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com M.C. Shop, Na Na, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok Maha Sarakham Province,Page 2,  history and locality

Maha Sarakham  also spelled Mahasarakham is one of the provinces ( Changwat ) of Thailand, located in the north eastern ( Isan ) region of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are (from north clockwise) Kalasin, Roi Et, Surin, Buriram and Khon Kaen.

The province's capital is the town of Maha Sarakham. It is the home of Mahasarakham University, the largest university in the Northeast of Thailand in term of students (37,342),[1] and Rajabhat Mahasarakham University.

The province is mostly a plain covered with rice fields, only in the north and east are small hills. The province is between 130 and 230 metres above sea level. The main river in the province is the river Chi.

Maha Sarakham was originally a satellite town of Roi Et founded in 1865. The governor of Roi Et sent 9,000 people to populate the new town, and one of his cousins as the its governor. In 1868 the central government in Bangkok declared Maha Sarakham a province of its own under the supervision of Bangkok; one reason was that this step weakened the power of Roi Et.

The provincial seal shows a big tree in front of big rice fields, symbolizing the richness of resources in the province.

The province's flag shows the seal in the middle, in a brown horizontal strip. Above and below is a yellow strip. The brown colour symbolizes the strength and the perseverance of the people in the province, who live in the rather dry climate; the yellow colour as in the colour of the robes of Buddhist monks symbolizes the faith of the people.

The provincial tree is the Woman's-tongue Tree ( Albizia lebbeck ). The tree symbol was assigned to the province in 1994 by Queen Sirikit. Provincial flower is the West Indian Jasmine ( Plumeria alba ).

The province is sub divided into 13 districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further sub divided into 133 sub districts ( Tambon ) and 1804 villages ( Muban ).

1. Mueang Maha Sarakham   2. Kae Dam   3. Kosum Phisai   4. Kantharawichai   5. Chiang Yuen  6. Borabue   7. Na Chueak   8. Phayakkhaphum Phisai   9. Wapi Pathum  10. Na Dun  11. Yang Sisurat  12. Kut Rang  13. Chuen Chom

Maha Sarakham Province, Page 1,  Thailand.  Geography,  Provincial Seal, Districts.
Maha Sarakham Province, Page 1,  Thailand.  Geography,  Provincial Seal, Districts.
Maha Sarakham Province, Page 1,  Thailand.  Geography,  Provincial Seal, Districts.

Maha Sarakham Province, Thailand.  Geography,  Provincial Seal, Districts.