Home Page.About us etc.A to E items.F to K items.L to P items.Q to Z items.useful info.Link Sites.Forum Log In.
Home Page
Site Map.
site map

Chanthaburi Province, districts

The provincial tree is Diospyros decandra, the provincial flower is an orchid.

The provincial slogan is Magnificent Waterfalls, Fruit City, Good Breeding Peppercorns Loads of Gems, Chanthaburi Mat, Fertile Nature, Gathering Place of King Taksin the Great’s Liberation Army

The province is subdivided in ten districts (Amphoe). These are further subdivided into 76 sub districts (tambon) and 690 villages (muban).

  1. Mueang Chanthaburi

  2. Khlung

  3. Tha Mai

  4. Pong Nam Ron

  5. Makham

  6. Laem Sing

  7. Soi Dao

  8. Kaeng Hang Maeo

  9. Na Yai Am

 10. Khao Khitchakut


While the southern part of the province is located at the shore to the Gulf of Thailand and thus is mostly coastal alluvial plains, the hinterlands of the province are quite mountainous. The Chanthaburi mountain range in the north has the highest elevation of the province, the 1556 m high Soi Dao Nua Peak. The main river of the province is the Chanthaburi River.

Together with the neighbouring province of Trat, Chanthaburi is the centre of gemstone mining, especially rubies and sapphires. Tropical fruits are also among the main products of the province. In 2000, it produced nearly 380,000 tons of durian, which was 45.57% of Thailand's durian production and about 27% of the world production of this fruit.

Distances from Amphoe Mueang Chanthaburi to other districts


Tha Mai                   11 kilometres

Makham                   12 kilometres

Khlung                      24 kilometres

Laem Sing               30 kilometres

Khao Khitchakut     30 kilometres

Na Yai Am                42 kilometres

Pong Nam Ron       42 kilometres

Soi Dao                    72 kilometres

Kaeng Hang Maeo 78 kilometres


How to get there by  car


The province is accessible by  five routes:

1. Highway No. 3, start from Bang Na, Bangkok, via Chon Buri – Bang Saen – Si Racha – Pattaya – Sattahip – Ban Chang – Rayong – Chanthaburi, a total distance of 330 Kilometres

2. Highway No. 36, start from Kilometres 140 on Sukhumwit Road in Bang Lamung, Chon Buri, turn left at Krathing Lai T-junction via Pira Circuit to end at Tambon Choeng Noen in Amphoe Mueang, Rayong Province, a distance of 60 Kilometres, then turn into Highway No. 3 for 108 Kilometres to Chanthaburi, a total distance of 308 Kilometres

3. Highway No. 344, the Ban Bueng – Klaeng route, saving a distance of up to 70 Kilometres, start from Kilometres 98 on Sukhumvit Road in Amphoe Mueang, Chon Buri, via Amphoe Ban Bueng of Chon Buri Province, Amphoe Wang Chan and Amphoe Klaeng of Rayong Province, a distance of 110 Kilometres Then, continue on Highway No. 3 for 58 Kilometres to Chanthaburi, a total distance of 266 Kilometres.


Cont; next page


Chanthaburi Province Page 1, about the Province and Provincial Seal
Chanthaburi Province Page 3, how to get there by Bus