Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com

Prachuap Khiri Khan Province, Thailand

Prachin Buri Province Page 1, Districts, Local Products

Prachuap Khiri Khan covers an area of 6,367.620 square kilometres. The district is located on the Kra Isthmus, the narrow land bridge connecting the Malay Peninsula with mainland Asia. The province contains the narrowest part of Thailand - directly south of the capital it is just 13 kilometres from the coast of the Gulf of Thailand to the border with Myanmar. The narrowest point of the Isthmus is however further south in the province Chumphon. Prachuap Khiri Khan is a moderately  plain area with altitude varying from 0 - 1200 meters above MSL. The maximum altitude can be reached in the north eastern and central west regions, which makes about 30% of the area.

The long coast to the Gulf of Thailand has many sandy beaches, the most famous one being at Hua Hin, which has been a popular resort since King Prajadhipok (Rama VII) built a summer palace there. From the coast the land quickly rises into the mountain chain which forms the border to Myanmar, the highest elevation in the province being the 1494 metre high Khao Luang. Due to this narrow watershed the rivers in the province are all small, the only bigger one is the Pran Buri River in the north of the province. The smaller rivers include the Khlong Kui.

The Khao Sam Roi Yot National Park was established in 1966 to protect Thailand's largest freshwater marshes, but also contains some mangrove woods and mudflat's. Most of the marshes were converted into shrimp farms, despite being in a national park.

The province is sub divided into 8 districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further sub divided into 48 communes or sub-districts ( Tambon ) and 388 villages ( Muban ).


                    1. Mueang Prachuap Khiri Khan

                    2. Kui Buri

                    3. Thap Sakae

                    4. Bang Saphan

                    5. Bang Saphan Noi

                    6. Pran Buri

                    7. Hua Hin

                    8. Sam Roi Yot

Prachuap Khiri Khan Province Page 1, Districts
Prachuap Khiri Khan Province Page 2, The History and pictures