Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com
Phetchaburi Province, Thailand, Districts and Information
Phetchabun Province, Page 1, Location, History and Districts, How to get there.

Phetchaburi ( often shortened to  Phet’buri ) is one of the central provinces ( changwat ) of Thailand. 123 kilometres from Bangkok, is an old city  that used to be an important garrison town a long time ago. Neighbouring provinces are  Ratchaburi, Samut Songkhram and Prachuap Khiri Khan. In the west it borders Tanintharyi Division of Myanmar ( once named Burma ).

Phetchaburi is located at the northern end of the Malay Peninsula, with the Gulf of Thailand to the East and the Tanaosi mountain range forming the boundary to Myanmar. Except these border mountains most of the province is a flat plain area. With an area of about 3000 km² the Kaeng Krachan National Park is Thailand’s largest national park, covering nearly half of the province. It protects mostly rainforests in the mountains along the boundary to Myanmar, but also the Kaeng Krachan reservoir is part of the park. The only significant river of the province is the Phetchaburi River.

Several caves are found in the province, most notable the Khao Luang caves near the capital city. Illuminated by a hole in the roof several Buddha statues are placed in the cave. Phetchaburi is an old royal city, dating back to the Mon of the 8th century. Later Khmer settled in the city, as can be seen by the prangs of Wat Kamphaeng Laeng. In 1860 King Mongkut built a palace near the city of Phetchaburi, commonly known as Khao Wang, but its official name is Phra Nakhon Khiri. Next to the palace the king built a tower for his astronomical observations. On the adjoining hill is the royal temple Wat Phra Kaeo.

The province is subdivided into eight districts ( Amphoe ), which are further subdivided into 93 communes ( tambon ) and 681 villages ( muban ).


1. Mueang Phetchaburi

2. Khao Yoi

3. Nong Ya Plong

4. Cha-am

5. Tha Yang

6. Ban Lat

7. Ban Laem

8. Kaeng Krachan

Phetchaburi Province Page 2, A brief History of the Province