Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Samut Sakhon Province Page 1, Geography, Provincial seal, Map Samut Songkhram Province Page 2, known locally as Mae Khlong

Samut Songkhram is one of the central provinces of Thailand. And the smallest Province.

Samut Songkhram is one of the central provinces ( changwat ) of Thailand. Neighbouring provinces are  Phetchaburi, Ratchaburi and Samut Sakhon. Local people call Samut Songkhram Mae Klong. The province is the smallest of all Thai provinces area wise. The word Samut originates from the Sanskrit  word Smudra meaning ocean, and the word Songkhram from Sanskrit Sangrama meaning war. Hence the name of the province literally means War Ocean.

Samut Songkhram is located at the mouth of the Mae Klong river to the Gulf of Thailand. With several canals (Klong) the water of the river is spread through the province for irrigation. At the coast are many lakes for producing sea salt. The sandbar Don Hoi Lot at the mouth of the river is famous for its endemic shell population of Solen regularis.

In the Ayutthaya period the area of Samut Songkhram was known as Suan Nok ( Outer garden ) and was administrated by Ratchaburi. During the reign of King Taksin it was made a province. It was the birth place of Queen Amarindra of King Rama I, who also started the name Suan Nok. The birth place of King Rama II in Amphawa district is now a Memorial Park.

The provincial seal ( on the right ) shows a drum swimming on a river. The Thai word for drum is Klong, thus refers to the Mae Klong river, as well as the old name of the province, Mae Klong. On both sides of the river coconut trees are displayed as one of the main product of the province. Provincial tree is Casuarina equisetifolia.

The provincial slogan is City of Hoi Lot, Top Lychee, King Rama II Memorial Park, the Mae Klong River, and Luangpho Ban Laem.

Administrative divisions

The province is subdivided into three districts (Amphoe). The districts are further subdivided into 38 communes (Tambon) and 284 villages (Muban). There is one town (thesaban Mueang) and three townships (thesaban Tambon).

  1. Mueang Samut Songkhram

  2. Bang Khonthi

  3. Amphawa, see separate article on the Floating Market here within this web site.

Samut Songkhram Province Page 1, The smallest Province
Samut Songkhram Province Page 1, The smallest Province
Amphawa Floating Market Page 1 Samut Songkhram Province