Home Page. About us etc. A to E items. F to K items. L to P items. Q to Z items. Useful info.. Link Sites.
Home Page Site Map. site map for www.Thailand-Delights.com Pattaya Page 1 - 147 Km from bangkok

Pathum Thani Province, Description and the districts

Pathum Thani is a neighbouring province of Bangkok. It is situated on the Chao Phraya basin with plenty of canals and orange plantations. Its original name is Mueang Sam Khok, which was founded during the Ayutthaya era. It was the settlement for the Mon people migrating from Mohtama ( in Myanmar ) over 350 years ago. In the year 1815 when King Rama II made a royal visit to this area, the inhabitants offered him plenty of lotus flowers which is the origin of the present name.

Pathum Thani Town is only 46 km's. from Bangkok. It occupies an area of 1,525 square kilometres and is administratively divided into 7 districts ( Amphoes ) Muang Pathum Thani, Lat Lum Kaeo, Sam Khok, Thanyaburi, Nong Suea, Khlong Luang, and Lam Luk Ka.

Neighbouring provinces are Ayutthaya, Saraburi, Nakhon Nayok, Chachoengsao, Bangkok and Nonthaburi. Pathum Thani is an old province filled with multiple temples, parks and areas to experience Mon culture. A lot of the modern knowledge, culture and history are presented in the museums and temples.

Pathum Thani  dates back to a settlement founded by Mon migrating from Mottama  in Myanmar around 1650. The original name was Sam Khok. In 1815 King Rama II visited the city and the citizens offered him many Lotus flowers, which made the king rename the city to Pathum Thani meaning The City of Lotus.

The province is subdivided into 7 districts ( Amphoe ). The districts are further subdivided into 60 communes ( Tambon )  and 529 villages ( Muban ).

  1. Mueang Pathum Thani

  2. Khlong Luang

  3. Thanyaburi

  4. Nong Suea

  5. Lat Lum Kaeo

  6. Lam Luk Ka

  7. Sam

Pathum Thani Province Page 2, Education and Technology, Academic Institutes, Research bodies, Industrial Parks